Laufas heritage site and museum

The atmospheric and picturesque heritage site of Laufás is full of history with its large farmhouse and beautiful 19th Church. It has been the home of priests since at least 1047 until 1935 with the current priest still living on the premises. The house a maze with long corridors and surprisingly many interconnected rooms. The heritage site Laufás is mentioned in historical records soon after the settlement of Iceland (874-930) being a renowned church site and chieftain’s residence. The current buildings are from the middle of the 19th century and furnished with household items and clothes from the period. One of Laufás characteristics is the Bridal room where brides prepared themselves for the big event. The existing church was built in 1865, among its special items is a pulpit from 1698.

Laufás Visitor Centre has a cosy atmosphere and additional information about nature, wildlife and history of the vicinity. Local handcraft and souvenir shop and refreshments.

Family friendly visit – Icelandic ponies every Sunday in June-August from 14-16 free of charge at the same time the local handcraft society shows the handcraft of the old farming society.

The old turf house is part of the National Museum’s Historic Buildings Collection.

Open daily from 15. May – 1. October 9-17.

24-hour museum pass available to 4 museums